Marymay and Kemuel

Some say that a married couple should be best friends first, and a couple second.

Marymay and Kemuel's story is almost more that of two best friends, than a married couple. Like any good friendship, there have been ups and downs, but how they survived through it all and came out on top is a story that spans nearly 8 years, and it started with three words that changed the fabric of their lives: "I like gold."

Yeah. Those weren't the three words I was expecting when I heard their story either. Nonetheless, they were the words 15 year old Kemuel chose to start their first conversation. Really, that was the beginning of a friendship more than a love story. But as the years went on, with the times they spent together, months they spent apart, from their first date at Burger King to the months where they hardly even spoke to each other, something was growing, whether they saw it or not at the time.

After the first summer they met at camp, Kemuel knew he loved her. Though she saw him as a friend, she didn't share the feelings he had. So as the years went by, they remained friends. Kemuel travelled, flew to Thailand and Australia, went to college and grew up. After awhile, he had all but given up on the idea that one day she would possibly love him back. But feelings have a funny way of turning around sometimes.

Shy fifteen year-old Marymay wasn't happy. Against her will, she had been forced to go to camp. She could think of a thousand things she'd have rather been doing that summer. And she definitely wasn't about to accept her fate and start making friends. So there she stood in the middle of the cafeteria on that first day, moping.

"I like gold." A voice.

She looked up to see a boy: her age, dark hair, friendly smile. Not sure what to make of the statement, and not in the mood for friendly banter, she shot him a confused look. Still smiling, he pointed to her feet. Her sandals. Gold.

Undeterred by the cold reception, Kemuel continued on the conversation, determined to know more about this girl. And it would seem he succeeded in softening her heart a little before they both were sent back home later that summer.

...

While their friendship hadn't changed. The way she saw him did. All of a sudden, in her eyes, Kemuel was no longer the same 15 year-old that she had met years before. He was mature. He had graduated college, travelled the world and was no longer at her feet waiting for her to fall for him. She missed that. So one fateful day, as they were sat next to one another on a park bench, she finally said it: "I love you." And awaited his reply.

Silence.

As one might expect, Marymay was slightly upset by this. But the truth was, he didn't know what to say. He was dumbfounded. He never expected to hear those words from her. But he wouldn't leave Marymay hanging for too long. She was relieved when later that day, he called and explained that he felt the same way.

Fast-forward to May 2016. Privy to her love of mountains, hiking and nature, Kemuel set up a proposal for the books, bringing her to the very top of Mont Megantic to pop the question. And there, 1102m above sea level, he proposed by singing a song he had written for her.

Four months later, in a wooden palace in St-Denis de Brompton, the couple having exchanged vows, he sang her that same song in front of their friends and family. As you can see in the pictures, the wedding was fantastic. Not because of the decor, or the venue (though those don't hurt), but because you can tell that this is just the beginning of the story for them.

Today, September 18, 2017, we're wishing them a happy first anniversary. May your marriage always stay golden.


Photographer: Beautiful Exchange
Photo Location: Lac Brompton, 5 minutes from La Grange Rouge.

Book Your Wedding

If you have questions about pricing and availability or think you might be interested in booking your big day with us:

 Email Us
or Visit our contact page >

Marymay et Kémuel

Certains disent que tout grand amour débute d'abord avec une grande amitié.

C’est définitivement le cas pour Marymay et Kémuel, qui ont une longue histoire d’amitié, et une histoire d’amour qui ne fait que commencer. Comme toute amitié solide, il y a eu des hauts, des bas, et tout le reste entre les deux. Leur histoire, qui a commencé depuis déjà une décennie, débute avec deux mots qui ont changé le cours de leur vies: “J’aime l’or.”

Eh oui. Ce ne sont pas les mots auxquels on s’attendait non plus quand ils nous ont raconté leur histoire. Néanmoins, ce sont les mots qu’un jeune Kémuel de 15 ans a choisi pour entamer leur première conversation. Ce fut le début d’une belle amitié. Mais, au fil du temps, tous les moments passés ensemble, les moments loins l’un de l’autre, de leur premier rendez-vous improvisé au Burger King, aux moments où ils ne se parlaient presque pas, quelque chose grandissait à leur insu.

Dès ce premier été au camp, Kémuel savait qu'il l'aimait. Mais Marymay, ne voyant en lui qu'un grand ami, ne ressentait pas les mêmes sentiments. Alors ils sont restés amis, et les années ont passé. Kémuel à voyagé. La Thaïlande. L'Australie. Il a entamé ses études. À ce point, Kémuel avait bien abandonné l'idée qu'un jour Marymay lui retourne ses sentiments. Eh bien, drôlement, nos émotions ont le don de changer parfois.

Une jeune Marymay timide, 15 ans, se retrouve prise au camp d'été, à son grand désespoir. C'est bien le dernier endroit qu'elle désire être. Et elle n'est certainement pas prête à accepter son sort en ayant du plaisir et en se faisant des amis! Alors elle se croise les bras et boude, misérable.

Une voix. "J'aime l'or."

Elle lève les yeux pour apercevoir un garçon: de son âge, cheveux foncés, un sourire amical. Incertaine de ce qu'il vient de lui dire, elle lui lance un regard perplexe. Encore le sourire aux lèvres, il pointe au sol. Ses sandales. Couleur or.

Kémuel, ignorant sa réaction froide, continue la conversation, déterminé d'en apprendre plus sur cette jeune fille. Il semblerait qu'il a bien réussi à l'attendrir au moins un peu avant qu'ils ne retournent à la maison à la fin de l'été.

...

Leur amitié n'avait pas changé…mais elle le voyait différemment maintenant. Soudainement, à ses yeux, Kémuel n'était plus le garçon de 15 ans qu'elle avait rencontré des années plus tôt. Il était mature. Il avait gradué, voyagé, et il ne s'attendait plus à ce qu'elle tombe en amour avec lui. Il était devenu l'homme qu'elle désirait. Et alors, un bon jour, assis côte à côte sur un banc de parc, elle prit son courage à deux mains et lui dit ce qu'elle ressentait réellement. "Je t'aime."

Silence.

Marymay ne savait pas trop quoi faire. Ses sentiments avaient-ils changé? La vérité, c'est que Kémuel n'avait aucune idée quoi dire. Il était complètement estomaqué. Il ne s'attendait jamais à l'entendre dire ces mots, lesquels il ressentait lui-même depuis des années. Mais ne vous inquiétez pas, c'est une histoire qui finit bien. Un petit peu plus tard, il lui confirma ses sentiments, à la grande joie de Marymay.

On se retrouve maintenant en Mai 2016. Connaissant son amour de la nature, des montagnes, et surtout de son côté explorateur, il lui planifie une énorme surprise. Du haut du mont Mégantic, 1102 mètres au dessus du niveau de la mer, il lui demande sa main en lui chantant une chanson qu'il lui a écrite.

Quatre mois plus tard, dans un petit château de bois à St-Denis-de-Brompton, après s'être dit oui pour la vie, il lui chante cette même chanson devant famille et amis. Et comme vous pouvez le voir sur les photos, c'était un mariage fantastique. Pas à cause du décor, ou du cachet rustique de la Grange (bien qu'on apprécie ces choses), mais parce qu'on peut clairement voir que ceci n'est que le début de leur histoire.

Aujourd'hui, le 18 Septembre, on vous souhaite le plus joyeux des anniversaires de mariage! Vous avez un amour en or.


Photographe: Beautiful Exchange
Endroit: Lac Brompton, à 5 minutes de La Grange Rouge.

Réservez Maintenant

Avez-vous de questions à propos des prix ou de la disponibilité?

 Envoyez-nous un courriel
ou Visitez la page Contactez-Nous